Europe’s leading edge:

KNOW-HOW

Know-how – Europe’s leading edge

European society is a knowledge society. The free exchange of thought and competition for the best ideas are part of our tradition. Universities were founded in Bologna in 1088, Paris in 1160, Oxford in 1167, and Cambridge in 1209. Leading scientists and the most knowledge-hungry students have always shared information and experience, conducted joint research, and learnt from one another across national borders.

Learning beyond the curriculum abroad

This academic exchange shapes the way in which we live together in Europe. Students spending one or more semesters abroad learn much more than just the content of the curriculum. Studying or training in another country dismantles prejudices, promotes understanding, and creates trust in other nationalities. This benefits business and the mechanical engineering sector as well. In a globalised world, it is more important than ever for employees to communicate internationally, speak different languages, and know how to deal with people from other cultures. A single labour market in Europe can only work if it is linked to a shared educational area.

Knowledge expands horizons

Europe is a great opportunity for young – and older – people to expand their horizons through new knowledge. One framework for this is the European Higher Education Area (EHEA), which was initiated in 1999. Today, 48 countries are involved in creating compatible structures in their universities to promote exchange programmes for researchers and students. The tool for accomplishing this is the Bologna Process, which aims to make education and training compatible and enable students to change between universities and colleges throughout the entire EHEA with harmonised degrees and uniform quality standards. But education also means regional differences, and so Bologna is very much an ongoing process. A true European Higher Education Area is still a long way from becoming an everyday reality, but the ideal is there.

Expertise is the differentiator

For Europe, and not least for European industry, it is crucial that we continue to pursue this path of cooperation. If European companies are global leaders despite the competition from Asia and North America, it is because of their ideas and expertise. In the future, we must continue to think about how to pool our experience and learn from one another in Europe. The focus is not only on study and education, but increasingly on continuing education and lifelong learning. We must not be limited by national borders, either now or in the future – because knowledge is the foundation for our prosperity in Europe.

Students in the EHEA:
37 million

Ein europäischer Vorsprung:

KNOW-HOW

Knowhow – ein europäischer Vorsprung

Die europäische Gesellschaft ist eine Wissensgesellschaft. Der freie Austausch von Gedanken und der Wettbewerb um die besten Ideen haben bei uns Tradition. Die Universität in Bologna wurde 1088 gegründet, die in Paris um 1160, Oxford im Jahr 1167 und Cambridge 1209. Schon immer war es üblich, dass sich die besten Wissenschaftler und die wissbegierigsten Studenten über Landesgrenzen hinweg austauschen, gemeinsam forschen und voneinander lernen.

Im Ausland lernt man über den Studienplan hinaus

Dieser wissenschaftliche Austausch prägt unser Zusammenleben in Europa. Denn wer ein oder mehrere Semester im Ausland verbringt, lernt mehr als die Inhalte aus seinem Studienplan. Ein Studium oder eine Weiterbildung in einem anderen Land baut Vorurteile ab, hilft bei der Verständigung und schafft Vertrauen in andere Nationalitäten. Davon profitieren auch die Wirtschaft und der Maschinenbau. In einer globalisierten Welt ist es wichtiger denn je, dass sich Mitarbeiter international verständigen können, Sprachen sprechen und wissen, wie man auf Menschen anderer Kulturen eingeht. Ein gemeinsamer Arbeitsmarkt in Europa kann nur dann funktionieren, wenn ihm ein gemeinsamer Bildungsraum gegenübersteht.

Wissen erweitert den Horizont

Europa ist die große Chance für junge – und ältere – Menschen, ihren Horizont durch neues Wissen zu erweitern. Einen Rahmen dafür gibt beispielsweise der Europäische Hochschulraum EHEA (European Higher Education Area), der 1999 ins Leben gerufen wurde. Mittlerweile beteiligen sich 48 Nationen am EHEA, schaffen vergleichbare Strukturen in ihren Hochschulen und fordern damit den Austausch von Wissenschaftlern und Studierenden. Das Werkzeug dafür ist der Bolonga-Prozess: harmonisierte Abschlüsse und einheitliche Qualitätsstandards sollen Aus- und Weiterbildung vergleichbar machen und Studenten den Wechsel ihrer Hochschule im gesamten EHEA ermöglichen. Doch Bildung bedeutet auch regionale Unterschiede und Bologna ist daher bewusst ein Prozess. Denn ein echter europäischer Hochschulraum ist noch lange kein gelebter Alltag – aber ein Ideal.

Knowhow macht den Unterschied

Für Europa und nicht zuletzt für die europäische Industrie ist es wichtig, diesen Weg der Zusammenarbeit weiterzugehen. Wenn europäische Unternehmen heute führend sind trotz der Konkurrenz aus Asien oder Nordamerika, dann wegen ihrer Ideen und ihres Knowhows. Wir müssen auch in Zukunft überlegen, wie wir in Europa unsere Erfahrungen am besten zusammentragen und voneinander lernen können. Dabei stehen nicht nur Ausbildung und Studium im Fokus, sondern immer mehr auch Weiterbildung und lebenslanges Lernen. Dabei dürfen wir uns auch in Zukunft nicht durch Landesgrenzen beschränken lassen – denn Wissen ist die Grundlage für unseren Wohlstand in Europa.

Studierende im EHEA:
37 Mio.